Skip to main content

Freedom of Information Commissioner and Privacy Commissioner appointments

The Hon Mark Dreyfus KC MP
Media Release

The Albanese Government has today delivered on our election commitment to fully restore the Office of the Australian Information Commissioner (OAIC) with the appointment of standalone Privacy and Freedom of Information (FOI) Commissioners.

For the first time since 2015 the OAIC will have a standalone FOI Commissioner, Privacy Commissioner and Information Commissioner, as Parliament originally enacted.

Unlike the Coalition, which sought to abolish the OAIC and refused to appoint standalone commissioners, the Albanese Government takes the seriously the privacy of Australians and freedom of information.

Freedom of Information Commissioner

Elizabeth Tydd has been appointed as the Freedom of Information (FOI) Commissioner for a five year term.

Ms Tydd has been the Information Commissioner and CEO of the NSW Information and Privacy Commission since 2013. Prior to this she was the Executive Director, Office of Liquor Gaming and Racing, Department of Communities from 2009 to 2013. Between 1997 and 2009, Ms Tydd held a number of senior roles at the New South Wales Department of Fair Trading including Assistant Commissioner, Compliance and Legal Group and Deputy Chairperson, Consumer Trade and Tenancy Tribunal.

Ms Tydd’s appointment will commence on 19 February 2024.

Privacy Commissioner

Carly Kind has been appointed as Privacy Commissioner, reinstating the standalone position abolished by the Coalition. Ms Kind brings to the Privacy Commissioner role expertise in data protection; AI policy, practice and governance; privacy; and technology law and policy.

Ms Kind has held the role of inaugural Director of the London-based Ada Lovelace Institute since 2019. Between 2015 and 2019 she was an independent consultant to a number of human rights organisations, trusts and foundations, international organisations and the private sector. She has provided advice on legal, ethical and practical issues at the intersection of technology and human rights.

Ms Kind will commence on 26 February 2024. Ms Angelene Falk, the Australian Information Commissioner, will continue as Privacy Commissioner until that time.

I congratulate Ms Tydd and Ms Kind on their appointments and thank them for taking on these important roles. I also express my thanks to Ms Falk for her service as Privacy Commissioner and to Ms Toni Pirani for acting as FOI Commissioner since May 2023.

For information about these roles and the work of the Office of the Information Commissioner, visit About the OAIC.