Skip to main content

Appointment of Sex Discrimination Commissioner of the Australian Human Rights Commission

The Hon Mark Dreyfus KC MP
Media Release

The Albanese Government is pleased to announce the appointment of Dr Anna Cody as Sex Discrimination Commissioner.

This appointment to the Australian Human Rights Commission was made following a merit-based selection process.

Dr Cody brings to the role a career in advocating for women and fighting discrimination.

Through her work in Community Legal Centres, on the Board of the Legal Aid Commission of NSW and her role now as Dean of the School of Law at Western Sydney University, Dr Cody has a deep understanding of the systemic discrimination Australian women still face.

In this role she will promote and advance the rights of Australians by tackling discrimination on the grounds of sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, intersex status and all other protected attributes in the Sex Discrimination Act 1984.

Dr Cody will also play a critical role in the Commission’s delivery of the Respect@Work: Sexual Harassment National Inquiry Report (2020) – some of the most significant workplace reform to be undertaken in a generation.

Dr Cody’s five-year appointment will commence on 4 September 2023.

I congratulate Dr Cody on her appointment and thank her for taking on this important role.

Read about the work of the Sex Discrimination Commissioner


Dr Cody has held the position of Dean of the School of Law at Western Sydney University since 2019. She holds a Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Laws, Master of Laws and a Doctor of Philosophy in Law. Prior to her appointment as Dean, Dr Cody was Director of the Kingsford Legal Centre (2004-2019); a Program Coordinator at Caritas Australia (2003-4); a Program Coordinator for the Centre for Economic and Social Rights, New York (2001-2) and Senior Solicitor, Kingsford Legal Centre (1995-2000). Dr Cody has served on a number of boards, including Community Legal Centres Australia, the Legal Aid Commission NSW and Western Sydney University Early Learning. She was the winner of the Australian Human Rights Award (Law) in 2016.