Skip to main content

During the caretaker period associated with the 2022 federal election (starting 9:30am 11 April 2022), any new material, including transcripts, speeches, and media releases, will not be available on this site.
They will generally be available from the Liberal Party of Australia website, which is not maintained or funded by the Commonwealth.

Statement regarding the President of The Administrative Appeals Tribunal, The Hon Justice David Thomas

Senator the Hon Michaelia Cash
Media Release

Today I announce that the Hon Justice David Thomas has resigned as the President of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT).

Justice Thomas was appointed as President of the AAT and a judge of the Federal Court of Australia on 27 June 2017. He will remain as a judge of the Federal Court.

During his time as President, he has provided strong leadership to the AAT, promoting public confidence in the merits review process.

The Government will announce the appointment of the next President of the AAT in the near future.

In the meantime, arrangements are in place for Federal Court of Australia judges the Hon Justice Susan Kenny AM and the Hon Justice Berna Collier to act as AAT President. Justice Collier is currently acting as AAT President while Justice Thomas has been on leave.

On behalf of the Government, I thank Justice Thomas for his leadership of the AAT over the last 5 years.