Skip to main content

During the caretaker period associated with the 2022 federal election (starting 9:30am 11 April 2022), any new material, including transcripts, speeches, and media releases, will not be available on this site.
They will generally be available from the Liberal Party of Australia website, which is not maintained or funded by the Commonwealth.

Appointment of Registrar of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal

Senator the Hon Michaelia Cash
Media Release

I am pleased to announce the appointment of Mr Michael Hawkins AM as the Registrar of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT). This appointment has been made on recommendation of the AAT President, the Hon Justice Fiona Meagher, in accordance with section 24C of the Administrative Appeals Act 1975.

Mr Hawkins brings a wealth of experience from a variety of senior roles, as well as an understanding of the work of the AAT, having served as a part-time Member since 2016. He is highly capable and qualified to assist the President to manage the administrative affairs of the AAT.

I congratulate Mr Hawkins on his appointment, which commences on 14 April 2022 for a period of five years.

I also thank Mr Jamie Crew for his leadership of the AAT as Acting Registrar since January 2022.

Biography – Mr Michael Hawkins AM

Mr Hawkins obtained his Bachelor of Laws with Honours from the Queensland University of Technology in 1983, and was admitted as a Solicitor of the Supreme Court of Queensland and High Court of Australia in 1986. He was employed in private legal firms from 1984 to 1994, during which time he also became Chair of Nindethana Pastoral Pty Ltd. Mr Hawkins graduated from the Australian Institute of Company Directors in 2011.

From 1994 to 2010 he was the CEO of Australian Multiplex Cinemas Ltd and moved to the role of Executive Director of National Association of Cinema Operators – Australasia in 2011. He was appointed as a part-time Member in the Migration and Refugee Division of the AAT in 2016. He also became a director at Screen Australia in 2016. He was named a Member of the Order of Australia for significant service to the film and television industry and to screen content in 2021.